Welcome to the MLUWC!

Founded in 1957, the Montreal Lakeshore University Women’s Club (MLUWC) is a non-profit organization of more than 200 women graduates. Monthly meetings and a wide variety of interest groups encourage fellowship and stimulate interest in current issues. Our goals are to use our education and professional training to:

  • foster cultural, social and political awareness
  • develop sound educational values
  • perform community service

MLUWC works to influence public policy through advocacy and encourages education by offering scholarships and bursaries.

MLUWC is a member of the Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW), a non-partisan national volunteer organization with over 9,000 members in 112 Clubs across Canada.  CFUW has special consultative status at the United Nations and representation at the Education Committee of the Canadian Commission to UNESCO.  As a member organization of CFUW, we are committed to:

  • improving the status of women and girls
  • promoting education
  • advancing human rights, justice and peace

CFUW is the largest affiliate of the International Federation of University Women (IFUW) an organization founded in 1919 which works to empower women and girls through lifelong education for leadership, decision-making and peace.

Other MLUWC affiliations include membership in the Montreal Council of Women (MCW) and the Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund (VGIF).

New members welcome!

2015 Scholarship Winners

2015 Scholarship Winners
Photo from left to right:
Scholarship Committee Co-chair Theresa Sliz, Scholarship winners: Ivy Lin, Kharoll-Ann Souffrant, Lana Saleh-Bacha, Scholarship Committee Co-chair Jill Rollins
(Click to enlarge)

2015 Scholarship Fundraiser

The scholarship fundraiser for 2015 will feature the “Best of Broadway” performed by The Lyric Theatre Singers. This year’s objective is to raise $9,000 towards scholarships for deserving West Island women.

Please help us to meet our goal.
(For details, see UPCOMING EVENTS / additional information)

2015 Scholarship Fundraiser
Pictured are members of the Fundraising Committee from left to right:
Mary Vlahos(co-chair), Joyce Schaaf, Judy Paquin, Jane Cowell Poitras, Victoria Pinnell (Co-chair)
and missing from the picture: Janet Ankcorn
(Click to enlarge)

designed by texpertek